Hawaii Becomes First State to Pass $18 Minimum Wage Law
Hawaii Governor David Ige signed the first state bill to raise a State’s minimum wage to $18.00 an hour. The new bill has a six-year phase-in period. The current minimum wage is $10.10. It will increase to $12.00 per hour on October 1, 2022; to $14.00 per hour on January 1, 2024; to $16.00 per hour on January 1, 2026; and finally to $18.00 per hour on January 1, 2028.
While Hawaii is the first state to pass an $18 minimum wage law, the long phase in period makes it possible other states will reach the $18 minimum wage first.
Brody and Associates regularly advises management on complying with the latest local, state and federal employment laws. If we can be of assistance in this area, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 203.454.0560