New Jersey Implements Sick Leave
Posted on Jan 17, 2019 on Legal Updates, Legislative Updates, News by
A new paid sick leave law recently went into effect in New Jersey. Under the new law, employers must allow their New Jersey employees to accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every thirty hours worked, up to 40 hours per year. Employers must also allow employees to carry over 40 hours of accrued paid sick leave from year to year assuming it is unused.
The sick leave began to accrue on October 29, 2018, for existing employees and will accrue starting from the date of employment for anyone hired after that date. It can be used 120 days after the start of employment. The law even states “any employee who is hired and commences employment before the effective date of this act … shall be eligible to use the earned sick leave beginning on the 120th calendar day after the employee commences employment,” meaning most employees who have been with the company for a while are eligible to use their accrued sick time immediately.
Employees can use the sick leave for a number of different reasons, including the diagnosis, care for, treatment of, or recovery from their own or a family member’s physical or mental injury or illness or preventative care. Employees may also use the sick leave to deal with issues relating to the employee or a family member being a victim of domestic or sexual violence.
The law also requires employers to provide employees notice of this new benefit on a form provided by the State. Existing employees should have received the required notice by November 29, 2018, and new employees should receive it at the time of hire. The form can be found here.
Brody and Associates regularly advises management on complying with the latest state and federal employment laws. If we can be of assistance in this area, please contact us at email@example.com or 203.454.0560.